Chicken Tonight

I have a fairly large spice and herb collection. it is wonderful. Instead of buying jars of spice pastes and sauces, I make my own. This way I don’t end up with a fridge full of half used jars designed made to feed families. It also means I know that I am eating good, wholesome ingredients and can healthily add flavour to food. It’s an investment well worth it in my eyes.

P1020766

My homemade “tandoori” chicken is far from authentic but is packed with flavour and super moist (I apologise for the use of that word, but it had to be done). The chicken is marinated in spices overnight and then grilled quickly giving it a crunchy charred outer and succulent middle.

“Tandoori” Chicken Recipe (adapted from Tandoori Style ChickenFood.com)

(serves 2)

Ingredients

  • 1 large or 2 small chicken breasts
  • 2 tablespoons lime juice
  • 1/8 cup plain unsweetened yoghurt
  • 1 teaspoon jalapeno, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • Method

    P1020746

    1. Mix all ingredients except for chicken a small bowl to form a paste
    P1020753 2. Place chicken and paste in a plastic bag and smother chicken in paste. Bash chicken with a rolling pin so that it is only 2cm at it’s thickest (try and make it even). Marinate overnight for best taste.
    P1020756 3. When ready to cook, line a tray with tinfoil and spray with cooking oil. Place chicken on the tray and then lightly coat it with another layer of cooking oil.
    P1020761 4. Grill chicken at the top of the oven at the hottest temperature it will reach for 5 minutes on each side. Remove the chicken from the oven when it is slightly charred and cooked through. Let it rest for a few minutes before serving.

    I served my chicken on top of a cucumber raita with snow peas. It would also be fabulous with rice and a green salad.

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Chicken Tonight

  1. Mark says:

    Haha.. Nice!

  2. realfunfood says:

    This looks really good! I agree, I don’t like to buy giant spice mixes when I can almost always make them myself with ingredients I already own!

  3. […] Chicken Tonight (orderenvy.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

