Guess who’s back… Back again..?

Sorry for my abrupt break in blogging. A trip back home for graduation and then feeling not too flash has meant that I haven’t spent much time in the kitchen at all so I enjoyed having a bit of a play this evening. After eating more convenience foods and restaurant food than usual I wasn’t that inspired to cook but I’m always so surprised how much I enjoy eating fresh, healthy food after having a break from it.

Tonight I needed to cook up some snapper I bought the other day and had been eyeing up the laksa paste in my fridge so I decided to poach the snapper. I have never poached fish before and I have no idea if this is anything close to the “correct” method but I do know that it worked, it was delicious and it was speedy. Please feel free to let me know if there is a better way of doing this!

Asian Poached Snapper Recipe

(serves 2)

Ingredients

250g snapper
1C vegetable stock
1C milk (you could replace the milk with evaporated milk or replace the milk with coconut milk and omit the coconut essence)
2 capfuls coconut essence
3TBSP laksa paste
1 spring onion
1 tsp dried capsicum flakes

Method

1. Bring vegetable stock, milk and laksa paste & coconut essence gently to the boil
2. Add fish and simmer approximately 8 minutes or until cooked through
3. Top with spring onion and capsicum flakes.

I served my fish over brown rice, broccoli and peas and spooned some of liquid the fish cooked in. Some fresh coriander and a touch of chilli would have given this meal a real boost.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

