Mim vs Kitchen: 1 All

Do you know that is? Sunshine on my legs (please excuse the pasty whiteness)! Today it felt like Spring has arrived and warm days always make me feel like seafood. I’m not sure why – maybe it’s childhood memories of fish and chips on the beach. So, for dinner tonight I set to work converting a recipe for Salmon Jerky and Citrus Tahini into marinated Salmon and Citrus Tahini Coleslaw.

It looked and smelt awesome while it was cooking. The coleslaw dressing tasted pretty good with its lemon juice, orange, tahini, and honey flavours but when it came to tasting the salmon – bleh! I only used 2TBSP of tamari but it was WAY to strong. Oops. So sorry, no salmon recipe today but maybe I’ll come back to that idea.

Fortunately I have a kitchen success to share from my breakfast: Simple Berry Sauce. Simple Berry Sauce has been part of my morning for a long time. When I have time, my go to breakfast is a big bowl of oats topped with Simple Berry Sauce and yoghurt. This sauce is quick enough to zap in the microwave while the oats are cooking on the stove.

Simple Berry Sauce Recipe

(serves 1)

Ingredients

  • 1/3C frozen mixed berries
  • 1/2t arrowroot powder (you could substitute cornflour but arrowroot powder has less taste)
  • drop of vanilla essence
  • drop of lemon juice

Method

1. Microwave berries for 1 or 2 minutes. They should be fully defrosted and steaming hot.
2. Mush with a fork and mix in arrowroot powder
3. Microwave for a further 1 or 2 minutes. The mixture should now have a ‘jam-like’ consistency.
4. Mix in vanilla essence and lemon juice.

This sauce is not overly sweet but works well with the sweetness of the banana I put in my oats. It also works well on pancakes. If you have a sweet-tooth add some maple syrup, honey, sugar or agave nectar to taste.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Mim vs Kitchen: 1 All

  1. […] sugar/honey/maple syrup etc. I didn’t worry about doing this because mine were smothered in Simple Berry Sauce and yoghurt – a great start to the […]

Leave a Reply

